Township Hall

Township Board

Malinda Cole-Crocker, Supervisor

By law, the duties of the supervisor are varied. Specifically, her basic duties include serving as the chair of all Township Board meetings, acting as the agent for the Township in all legal transactions, serving as secretary of the Board of Review, preparing an annual budget, serving as one of the Township’s representatives to the Southeast Berrien County Landfill Board, and performing any other duties as requested by the Township Board or by a resident of the Township.

Wendi Heyliger, Clerk

The Township Clerk is a member of the Township Board. She proudly serves the community by performing statutory duties which include maintaining custody of township records, maintaining the general ledger for the township and fire department, preparing warrants for township and fire department checks, and recording and publishing the Township Board meeting minutes. She processes payroll FOIA requests, manages human resource duties and any other tasks requested by the Township Board or residents. The Clerk is responsible for all Federal, State, and Local elections and voter registration. The Clerk is also serving as Chairman of the Buchanan Area Recreation Board and Secretary of Southwest Michigan Community Ambulance service Board and the Election Commission Chairman and Chief Election Officer. She preforms many other non-statuatory tasks ensuring the Township continues to run smoothly and always will go out of her way to help any resident. The Clerk appoints a deputy to assist her.

Amber Ramirez, Treasurer

The treasurer is a member of the Township Board, keeps records of all receipts and disbursements of township monies, receives and deposits in a depository designated by the Township Board all funds of the township, collects all real as well as special assessment taxes, prepares delinquent tax rolls and turns them over to the county treasurer for collection. In addition, she may be called upon to perform such duties as may be determined by the Township Board. She also appoints a deputy to assist her.

Adam Byrdak, Lynn Ferris, Tom Gordon and Brad Huebner, Trustees

Buchanan Charter Township has four trustees. As members of the Township Board, the trustee acts in a legislative capacity and with the Board sets the policy under which the Township operates, consistent with the laws and statutes provided. The trustee may be called upon to serve as a member of committees in addition to service on the Board. At present, Lynn Ferris serves on the Niles Buchanan Cass Area Transportation Study Board and the Election Commission.  Tom Gordon serves as the Chairman of both the Southeast Berrien County Landfill Board and the Joint Water Sewer Board. Brad Huebner serves on the Election Commission.